

Past Winners

Betsy Schnell Piano Award
(HS = High School; MS = Middle School)
*All winners were piano players unless otherwise noted.

2024	Bryan Zheng (HS) Adriel Tan (MS)
2023	Jennifer Wang (HS) Aiden Yue (MS)
2022	Fyodor Rudchenko (HS) Caitlin Devine (MS)
2021	Emmanuel Zheng (HS) Bryan Zheng (MS)
2020	McKayla Ro (HS) Fyodor Rudchenko (MS)
2019	Kelly Wang (HS) Emmanuel Zheng (MS)
2018	Yang Zhao (HS) McKayla Ro (MS)
2017	Jenny Baik (HS) Erick Jiang (MS)
2016	Britten Collins (HS) Kelly Wang (MS)
2015	Ellen Li (HS) Yang Zhao (MS)
2014	None
2013	Mark Irchai (HS) Jason Choi (Violin, MS)
2012	Dominic Muzzi (HS) Antonio Romero (MS)
2011	Andrea Martin (HS) Yong Shan (MS)

2010	Marc Parocha (HS)
	Mark Irchai (MS)
2009	Lucy Shong (HS)
	Stephen Dolbier (MS)
2008	Andrew Sohn (HS)
	Michael Helvey (Violin, MS)
2007	David Derrico (Viola, HS)
	Lisa Fujita (Violin, MS)
2006	Alan Clark (HS)
	Lucy Shong (MS)
2005	Christine Shen (HS)
	Alan Clark (MS)
2004	Steffen Zeichner (Violin, HS)
	Katherine Shen (MS)
2003	Cindy Tsai (HS)
	Christine Shen (MS)
2002	David Sheng (Violin, HS)
	Christine Shen (MS)
2001	Taiko Pelick (HS)
	Jennifer Brown (MS)
2000	None
1999	Eric Shen (HS)
	David Sheng (Violin, MS)
1998	None
1997	Eric Shen (HS)
	David Sheng (Violin, MS)
1996	Shu-ping Shen (Violin, HS)
	Eric Shen (Violin, MS)
1995	None
1994	Heather Carter (HS)

	Eric Shen (MS)
1993	None
1992	None
1991	None
1990	Lisa Smith (HS)
	Audrey Lee (Violin, MS)

1989	None
1988	None
1987	None
1986	None

1985	Frank Gurman (Organ, HS) Ben Luttge (MS)
1984	None
1983	Corey Jamison (HS) Michael Hsu (Violin, MS)
1982	Timothy Chen (Violin)
1981	None
1980	None
1979	James Waldo
1978	Dana Haviland

^{***}In the early years, this award was called the Betsy Schnell Youth in Music Award.